Still and Small

Image

“Bidden or unbidden, God is present.” -Carl Jung

(1 Kings 19:11-13)

Listening for God I wonder if His presence lies within the the earth. The fierce power that reminds me … I am small. God can crush me if He’s so inclined.

A windstorm spins picking all that is nature and all that is mankind’s craft off the ground. It twists and razes. No thing is stable.

God is not there. God is there.

The ground convulses, shattering the floor beneath me. Mouth open wide, it swallows itself. Taken somewhere else. Where there is no light. No thing is stable.

God is not there. God is there.

The air explodes with searing heat and burns … incinerates creation; that which was called good. Consumed by fire and left standing scorched and stunned. No thing is stable.

God is not there. God is there.

Silence. He did not manifest in the power. He did not break through where I expected. He was not there. He was there. Standing, I wonder where His presence dwells. I cannot hear Him. He will not speak.

In His absence I’m made keenly aware of His presence. My yearning for Him is the proof. I cannot see Him. I wait with a clothed face. Absent in any sort of spectacular display, God speaks through the stillness. He speaks in dead air. He speaks through the small.

What brings me to this place? A desolate heart urges there is no one but me.  He hears my plea. Even in moments when I do not hear the Father, His beloved is not forsaken. God is stable. He is there.

He watches noiselessly at times. He sees me. Always.

Leave a Reply

